RSI and blogging don’t go together

P1000764

Cristi, Nora and Liu say goodbye from Kit’s Couture – but for how long?

Back in the summer I developed a rotator cuff injury in one shoulder, and while it has improved a good deal, it’s still there and mouse work at the computer aggravates the problem.  Swapping my mouse to the other hand has not helped, because now the other shoulder has a similar problem – and that’s in spite of swapping over to using an ergonomic split keyboard and a vertical mouse.

The cure is to rest the muscles as much as possible, and this is why the blog has been inactive for the last six months.  As my work depends on my being able to use a PC, I have got to take this problem very seriously.  And as, unfortunately, the RSI is persistent and is obviously going to take a good long while to clear up, I feel I have to close down this blog for the foreseeable future. I’ve no idea how long that will be, perhaps just a matter of months, perhaps longer.  We will definitely be back at some stage.

But for now, it’s goodbye from team Kit’s Couture.

4 thoughts on “RSI and blogging don’t go together

  1. Hope it improves for you soon. I have had torn rotator cuff injuries in both shoulders, one was over three years ago now, but I still get pain in them. I don’t think it ever completely goes away. Best wishes.

    • Thank you for the kind words. I’m sorry to hear of your rotator cuff injuries, they sound very serious. I’m managing mine as well as I can, but I’m aware that once there’s a weakness they can come back. In fact the problem with my right shoulder dates from 10 years ago and my first round of RSI. Hey ho. On we go.

  2. I’m very sorry to hear that you have RSI in your shoulder. I actually have been suffering for the last few weeks with a similar problem in my right shoulder and have been wondering if it is the same thing….it is incredibly painful, but particularly at night when I’m in bed. So I really don’t know.
    I hope with rest your shoulder will get better.
    In the meantime, your Paolo Reina dolls do look sweet above in the photo, and are dressed so beautifully too.
    Wishing you all the very best for the future, I hope that you’ll be able to pick up with your blog again at some point.
    Hugs Sharon in Spain x

    • Hello Sharon, sounds like you need to get some advice on that shoulder. Is there a clicking noise when you move the joint? That’s often a sign of rotator cuff problems. My problem is relatively minor by comparison but it’s very persistent, which is why I’m taking it so seriously.

      Yes, I love my little Paola Reina Amigas and they are fun to dress, as are my Minouches and my Vestida de Azul girls… Anyway, until I come back here to blog again, I shall see you on Facebook no doubt!

Leave a Reply

